next up previous contents index
Next: References Up: The LaTeX2HTML Translator Previous: General License Agreement and

Credits

Several people have contributed suggestions, ideas, solutions, support and encouragement. Some of these are Roderick Williams, Ana Maria Paiva, Jamil Sawar and Andrew Cole here at the Computer Based Learning Unit.

The idea of splitting LaTeX files into more than one components linked with hyperlinks was first implemented in Perl by Toni Lantunen at CERN. Thanks to Robert Cailliau <cailliau@cernnext.cern.ch> of the WorldWide Web Project also at CERN for giving me access to the source code and documentation (although no part of the original design or the actual code has been used).

Robert S. Thau <rst@edu.mit.ai> has contributed the new version of texexpand. Also, in order to translate the document from hell (!!!) he has extended the translator to handle def commands, nested math-mode commands, and has fixed several bugs.

The pstogif script uses the pstoppm.ps postscript program originally written by Phillip Conrad (Perfect Byte, Inc.) and modified by L. Peter Deutsch (Aladdin Enterprises).

The idea of using existing symbolic labels to provide cross-references between documents was first conceived during discussions with Roderick Williams <rodw@cbl.leeds.ac.uk>. Eric Carroll <eric@ca.utoronto.utcc.enfm> suggested providing a command like hyperref. Franz Vojik <vojik@de.tu-muenchen.informatik> provided the basic mechanism for handling foreign accents. The -auto_navigation option was based on an idea by Todd <little@com.dec.enet.nuts2u>. Axel Belinfante <Axel.Belinfante@cs.utwente.nl> provided the code in the makeidx.perl file as well as numerous suggestions and bug reports.

Verena Umar <verena@edu.vanderbilt.cas.compsci> (Computer Science Education Project) has been a very patient tester of some early versions of LaTeX2HTML and many of the current features are a result of her suggestions.

Thanks to (thanks to Ian Foster <itf@mcs.anl.gov> and Bob Olson <olson@mcs.anl.gov>) at the Argonne National Labs for setting up the LaTeX2HTML mailing list.


change_begin
Special credit is due Marcus Hennecke <marcush@crc.ricoh.com> for his many extensive revisions, Mark Noworolski <jmn@eecs.berkeley.edu> for coordinating V 95.3, Sidik Isani <isani@cfht.hawaii.edu>, for his improvement in GIF quality, and to Herb Swan <dprhws@edp.Arco.com> for coordinating V 96.1 of LaTeX2HTML.


change_end

Many others, too many to mention, have contributed bug reports, fixes, and other suggestions. Keep them coming!


next up previous contents index
Next: References Up: The LaTeX2HTML Translator Previous: General License Agreement and

Bo Milvang-Jensen
Tue May 28 19:03:54 MET DST 1996